Gone Fishin’

Fridays on The Pier – 1950s

The Seal Beach pier has been a favorite subject for photographers throughout its 95 years of history.  Every Friday between now and the end of the Seal Beach Founders Celebration, we’ll be posting an image of the pier.

click on the image for a larger view

That’s all for this week.  Have a great weekend, and be sure to check back each week for more historical photos and stories of Seal Beach.

Bookmark and Share
This entry was posted in Fridays on The Pier, Seal Beach Images and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gone Fishin’

  1. Nat Ferguson says:

    I remember riding the little tram out the pier and back as a kid. I think it was 10 cents each way. Would be great to see a picture of that old tram!

  2. Robbie says:

    I lived in Seal Beach from the time I was 4 years old (1950) until I was 19. I can honestly say that it was the best place ever to grow up. I lived at 805 Electric, so I was close to everything, Main Street, the library, Bay Theater, Brock’s Drug Store (where we could get Suicide Cokes at the lunch counter), the pier, etc. One of my most acute memories is the smell of the Bay Hardware Store. I don’t know what it was, but I just loved the way it smelled inside. I could never walk past it without going in to take a big whiff. Even when the store was closed, I would push back the little door on the mail slot and stick my nose in it. I really appreciate all the memories you brought back with your pictures. Thank you

    • Lynn says:

      In the late 50’s my Mother would take us everyday (all day) to Seal Beach from Westminster where we lived. There was a burger place called Dave’s – all open air and as I recall, right on the beach. Do you know where it was so that I may look at a map? Unfortunately my Mother can’t remember much anymore…maybe you know? So many happy days there – thanks!

      • Michael Dobkins says:

        I think the burger joint was owned by Dave Stangeland, and it was located close to Dolphin and Ocean. Dave is no longer with us, and neither is Dave’s Place at its original location. However, a second location was opened some years ago on PCH. Here’s the info:

        Dave’s Other Place
        1500 Pacific Coast Hwy # C
        Seal Beach, CA 90740-6246
        (562) 596-2833

        They call probably tell you more about original location. Come back and tell us what you find out.

        Take Care.
        mpd

Leave a Reply

