Stan Berry at The Red Car Museum – 8/25/2012

Some of our most popular posts have featured historical photographs of Seal Beach police officers. These have come to us through the generosity of Stan Berry, a local expert on the Seal Beach Police Department and The Seal Beach Fire Department.  The photo below was too good not to share.  It show Stan at the 41st anniversary celebration of The Seal Beach Historical & Cultural Society’s Red Car Museum.

20120825 Stan Berry

The Red Car Museum is open the second and fourth saturday of every month from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m..  One of Seal Beach’s landmarks, the museum is housed in Pacific Electric Car #1734, a tower car that once served as a portable machine shop that performed repairs on Pacific Electric streetcar lines for decades until it was retired in 1950.  Today, the museum features exhibits of Seal Beach and Pacific Electric history and gift shop of local history merchandise.   You can find the Red Car Museum on Electric Avenue between Main Street and the library on the greenbelt that was once the Pacific Electric right of way through Seal Beach.

This entry was posted in Seal Beach Images, Stan Berry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Stan Berry at The Red Car Museum – 8/25/2012

  1. natferguson says:

    Not to mention Stan is just an all around good guy. Thank you for sharing the picture Michael.

  2. Duncan Campbell says:

    Hi, could you put me in touch with Stan Berry?

    I’m looking for the names of some SB police officers from the early ’60s.

    One of them wrote me a couple of traffic tickets and another who I think was called Bennie are the one’s I’m trying to remember.

    Duncan Campbell
    at 237 5th St in the early ’60s.

    • Michael Dobkins says:

      Duncan,

      I’ll pass your contact info on to Stan.

      One of the officers you’re thinking of is Benny Garza who is no longer with us. He was enormously popular with Seal Beach kids and residents. The next time you visit Seal Beach you can see a plaque in his honor installed in Eisenhower Park next to the pier.

    • Anonymous says:

      Mr. Campbell,

      I am glad that you took the time to view and post on the website. From the question that you posted I believe Mike provided the name, Benny Garza, that you were looking for.

      If there is anything else I can help you with please let me know!

      Have a great weekend,

      Stan

    • Anonymous says:

      Bennie Garza………….

  3. Well, it’s only taken me a year to get back to this page…Thanks everyone for Bennie’s last name. The other officer rode the three wheeler in 1961 or 1962, he gave me two tickets in about a week. $25 dollars worth, I didn’t want to pay them so, I spent the weekend in jail.
    I think he may have moved to Oregon sometime later. I stayed in Seal Beach until 1976 and don’t remember seeing him after 1963 or 1964.

    TIA for any info.

    duncan

  4. rosemary hackett says:

    We noticed a phone number on the red car, saying yours could be arranged for groups, but I wasn’t able to write down the number. We will be there Nov 10, a Tuesday, and not one of the Saturdays it is open. Can you tell me the phone number?
    thanks
    Rosemary

    • Michael Dobkins says:

      This web site operates independently of the Red Car Museum and the Seal Beach Historical Society. I’m not sure what they offer currently. I’m a lifetime member of the society, but I haven’t received a newsletter in years in spite of sending nymerous change of address notices and the museum was closed throughout the summer. The last number I had for the society was (562) 430-1450.

      Oops. Sorry, I just saw the date on your comment. Perhaps you can save the number for your next visit.

Leave a Reply

