February 9th in Seal Beach History

On this date in 1962, fans of international music could trot down Main Street to the Rouge et Noir, Seal Beach’s own folk club, and enjoy some Spanish folk dancing from Los Flamencos with Benito Palacio on the guitar and Pepe Segundo providing the vocals.

Feb_9_Los_Flamencos_at_Rouge_et_Noir-3

– Michael Dobkins

This entry was posted in Seal Beach History, Seal Beach Trivia, This Date in Seal Beach History and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 9th in Seal Beach History

  1. bcxists says:

    Interesting. Pepe Segundo was a regular flamenco guitarist at Sid’s Blue Beet in Newport Beach, which was not associated with the Nikas Bros., who owned the Rouge in Seal Beach, as well as the Golden Bear in Huntington Beach and the Prison of Socrates in Balboa.

  2. Anonymous says:

    I loved the Rouge. We used to go see Steve Martin and Tim Morgan there.

  3. Ellen Kearney says:

    My Aunt and uncle used to take me there ( and to the Cosmos ) when I was a little girl. George later hired me at the Bear where I stayed for the next 14 years and 7 months , when the doors closed forever . I don’t think I ever mentioned I had once been one of his youngest customers !

Leave a Reply

