On this date in 1916, the Santa Ana Register reported that the Anaheim Amusement Company had incorporated with a capital stock of $15,000. The new corporation was formed to put on a new concession at Seal Beach called, “Barrels of Fun and Racing Ponies.” The directors of the Anaheim Amusement Company were Fred A. Dyckman, Leora E. Newcombe, E. H. Heying, George Bishop, and John Schumacher Jr..
In June of 1916, Santa Ana Register reported that the Anaheim Amusement Company planning to build a movie theater, a high-grade restaurant, 100 to 200 cottages, and various other attractions where Richardson’s Bowling Alleys and Bath Houses stood in Anaheim Landing. These ambitious plans were never fulfilled, and that was the final mention of the corporation in the newspaper. The directors all remained active in Anaheim commerce and real estate for years to come.
Tragically, modern readers and future generations will never get to experience the “Barrels of Fun and Racing Ponies.”
– Michael Dobkins