On this date in 1957, The Los Angeles Times did a short profile on the recently completed renovations of the Girl Scout club house at 257 Seventh Street.
The project was launched with a presentation at J. H. McGaugh School by Mrs. Connell and Mrs. Ralph Latta of the Girl Scouts ways and means committee the previous winter. The gist of the presentation was that the original clubhouse from 1936 had become inadequate to meet the needs of the 175 Girl Scouts currently using the property.
The renovation was a community effort started in February that collected more than $4000 through a door-to-door fundraising campaign and more than 900 hours of volunteer time from parents and Seal Beach citizens. Frank Curtis directed the construction which expanded the clubhouse to 1060 square feet.
The site is still active today and is a few months away from hitting seventy years of serving the community and helping girls discover and develop themselves.
You can find out more about today’s Girl Scouts of Orange County by clicking here.
– Michael Dobkins